

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF GUAM

IN THE MATTER OF GUAM RULES OF LAWYER DISCIPLINARY ENFORCEMENT and DISABILITY PROCEEDINGS COMMISSION ON LAWYER REGULATION SUPREME COURT CASE NO. ADC23-001

ORDER

This matter comes before the court on the expiration of terms and the need to appoint members of the Commission on Lawyer Regulation ("Commission"). Rule 2 of the Guam Rules for Lawyer Disciplinary Enforcement and Disability Proceedings ("Rules") provides that: [t]he Commission shall consist of five (5) members appointed by the Court and shall be empowered with the requisite authority and responsibility to administer the lawyer discipline and disability system as described in these Rules. The Commission shall consist of three (3) active members of the Bar of Guam in good standing and two (2) public members who shall serve for fixed, staggered terms. Two (2) lawyer members and one (1) public member shall be appointed to initial terms of two (2) years while one (1) lawyer member and one (1) public member shall be appointed to initial terms of four (4) years. Subsequent terms of all members shall be for four (4) years. No member shall serve more than two (2) consecutive full four-year terms; however, after serving two (2) consecutive fouryear terms, a member may be reappointed to the Commission after having been off the Commission for one (1) year. The Court shall appoint lawyer members of the Commission to serve as chair and vice-chair for the remainder of their appointed term.

Rule 2(b). The terms of three members of the Commission will expire on March 29, 2023: lawyer member and Chair John Weisenberger, lawyer member John Morrison, and public



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

2.2

23

24

25

26

27

28

Page 1 of 2

member Margarita D. Perez Leon Guerrero. Under Rule 2(b), and in furtherance of the court's plenary authority to govern attorney and judicial ethics in Guam pursuant to 48 U.S.C.A. § 1424-1(a)(7), the court hereby reappoints lawyer member John Morrison to a four-year term, reappoints public member Margarita D. Perez Leon Guerrero to a four-year term, and appoints Vince Camacho to fill the vacancy upon the expiration of lawyer member John Weisenberger's term. John Morrison shall now serve as Chair of the Commission. Together with the remaining members, the composition of the Commission is as follows:

Lawyer Members:

John Morrison - Chair (term valid through March 30, 2027) Sirena Cassidy – Vice-Chair (term valid through March 29, 2025) Vince Camacho (term valid through March 30, 2027)

Public Members:

Artemio Ricky Hernandez (term valid through March 29, 2025)

Margarita D. Perez Leon Guerrero (term valid through March 30, 2027)

SO ORDERED this 17th day of March, 2023.

/s/ F. PHILIP CARBULLIDO Associate Justice /s/ KATHERINE A. MARAMAN Associate Justice

/s/ ROBERT J. TORRES Chief Justice